Almond Coconut Milk, Yum!

Welcome to your first dabbling of my “earthy” side. There is a funny story to that term I will have to share another time. But in my recent jump into eating healthier, I have come to a more personal realization that I should try to cut more dairy out of my life (no, I am not lactose intolerant, or allergic), I definitely have a LONG way to go before it’s completely cut out (stupid ice cream, cheese, even Greek yogurt, why must you be so tasty!!), and I am sure I will never completely cut it out, especially Greek yogurt, that stuff is amazing, and replaces SO other not so good things. But aside from all that, I started looking into alternatives to milk, especially for cearl in the mornings, since well, we just have lazy mornings like that around here. We started buying almond milk  which was pretty good, and then I noticed there was almond coconut milk, and that was even better. I just love the two flavors mixed together. But they are a little pricey, so to justify buying it, I had to use it sparingly, which was hard. Then in another one of my “earthy” endeavors to find a good homemade shampoo recipe I came across this homemade coconut milk shampoo recipe, which included how to make homemade coconut milk. Maybe I will share more details later about the shampoo another post. I felt like a giddy child in an online candy store! And in this same post, One Good Thing By Jillee shared a link to her Almond milk recipe. Since I already acquired a love for them together it was easy to put it together in my own little combination. I did half the almond recipe and combined it with the full recipe of the coconut and gave it a good shake. Pure Yum! And I stored it my old hospital jug, since it has a nice little pouring spout, but you could really store it any spare container. And  there you have it, yummy goodness for so much cheaper!

Oh and it is my plans to use the almond and coconut remains in a homemade granola recipe, I will share how that beauty turns out!

image

Have a happy milky sort of day! 🙂

Leave a comment